Musicians begin preparation for spring musical, Annie

The famous tunes, “Tomorrow,” and “Hard-Knock Life,” will once again reverberate through the WHS gymnasium as rehearsals have begun for the second Warsaw performance of the musical Annie.

Annie was last produced by WHS students 15 years ago.  Directors Charlene Million and Jamey Derks recently selected the cast of more than 46 characters and countless chorus and tech crew.

“Mrs. Derks and I chose Annie because of all the great songs that are in it and of the awesome talent we have to sing these songs,” music director Charlene Million said.

The tryout dates for the musical were held on Monday January 12, Tuesday January 13, and Thursday January 15. The practices started Monday January 19 and there practicing almost every night and sometimes in the mornings.

Students in the musical really like the songs and the production of this classic.

“It’s fun and we have a really good cast, the lead roles are good performers,” Junior Mary Porter said.

Musical dates are Friday March 13, Saturday, March 14, and Sunday March 15.

Upcoming cast for Annie consist of, Annie- Lydia Schockmann, Miss Hannigan- Madison Lane, Grace Farrell- Rickie Branson, Lily St. Regis- Stephanie Fisher, Molly- Maddy McMillin, Pepper- Caitlin Easter, Duffy- Kylie McRoberts, Kate- Bridget Clarke, Tessie- Melissa Pierce, July- Ashlyn Yoder, Cecille- Raven Caswell, Annette- Halee Pals, Mrs. Pugh- Shyla Estes, Star to be- Maddie Rozzell, Usherette-Megan Eastridge, Apple Seller- Mikayla Andrews, Connie Boylan- Emily Stantorf, Bonnie Boylan- Briar Strunk,  Ronnie Boylan- Cora Rodgers, Sophie- Jazmine Holbert, Woman 1- Krystina Hensley, Woman 2- Naomi Meyers, Woman 3- Stephanie Blake, Woman 4- Cassie Pittman, Kid- Nadine Rider, Oliver Warbucks- Brenden Dockery, Rooster Hannigan- Jordan Johnson, Darke- David Derks, Pres. Roosevelt- Blake Broderson, Radio Announcer- Seth Eckhoff, Fred McCracker- Michael Pierce, Mr. Bundles- Joe Black, Dog Catcher- Ryan Sprouse, Asst. Dog Catcher- Rayne Faulconer, Lt. Ward- Sam Dankert, sound effects Man- Jonathan Petesch, Bert Healy- Nate Fauqueir, Eddie- Conner Wood, Man 1- Michael Pierce, Man 2- Jake Freeman, Man 3- Jonathan Petesch, Man 4- Nathaniel Rushing, Banders – Ryan Faulconer, and Johnson- Jake Freeman.