Fall athletes awarded for effort during season

Lee Newell, Staff Writer

  As fall athletes turned in uniforms, they also accepted awards and recognition for their effort this season.

Softball Awards

  In softball the conference coaches voted on the All-Conference players. Warsaw had two girls receive All-Conference honors. Senior Kylie McRoberts received second team All-Conference honors and senior Raven Caswell received honorable mention All-Conference honors.

  After the district coaches voted on the all-district players,  McRoberts received first team All-District as an infielder. Senior Taylor Hetherington received first team All-District as a pitcher.

  McRoberts also received second team All-Region as an infielder.

  Team awards were handed out by the coaches at the Oct. 27 banquet. There were four awards given.

  Senior Taylor Hetherington received the Wildcat Award for her great attitude and willingness to work through tough situations.

  Senior Kylie McRoberts received the Offensive Player of the Year because she led the team in batting average, hits, RBI, and stolen bases.

  Senior Keyona Davis received Most Improved on Defense Award because she made great improvements in the outfield during the season.

 Senior  Raven Caswell received the Hustle Award because she was always trying her best, working hard, and giving 110% all of the time.

Volleyball Awards

  Volleyball players attended banquet on Nov. 12.

 JV awards were most improved player, freshman Brenna Smith, heart of the Wildcat, sophomore Maddie Keeton, and most aces, sophomore Mariah Ethridge.

  Varsity awards were best offensive player, senior Taylor Goetz, best defensive player, junior Ashton Adams, heart of the Wildcat, sophomore Brooke Jelinek, most improved player, senior  Kaitlyn Laue, and most aces, sophomore Hannah Chapman.

  All-Conference honorable Mention was given to senior Taylor Goetz.

Football Awards

  The football banquet was on Nov. 5 Senior Austin Steenburgen earned All-District second team running back and linebacker. Steenburgen also earned most valuable offensive player and most valuable player defensive team.

  Most valuable special team player was awarded to junior Trenton Simons and senior Andrew Bozarth.

  Junior Varsity most valuable player was Cash Miller.

  Newcomer of the year award was awarded to sophomore Jayden Schepker and freshman Matt Luebbert.

  Captains were seniors Damian Adams, Devon Parish, and Austin Steenburgen.